Faculty Recognition

Wayne State University School of Medicine annually recognizes outstanding faculty who have made significant contributions in teaching, mentoring, research and leadership.

2020 Award winners

  • Dean's Office Awards

    Outstanding Research Achievement  

    Assia Shisheva, Ph.D. - Physiology

    Women in Medicine and Science (WIMS) Leadership 

    Claire Pearson, M.D. - Emergency Medicine

    Kamran S. Moghissi, M.D. Endowed Faculty Award for Excellence in Basic Science Teaching

    Kezhong Zhang, Ph.D. - Center for Molecular Medicine and Genetics & Biochemistry, Microbiology and Immunology

    Outstanding Faculty Mentor

    Anne Messman, M.D. - Emergency Medicine

    Excellence in Clinical Science Teaching

    Diane Levine, M.D. - Internal Medicine

  • Research Excellence Awards

    Basic Sciences Researcher 

    Hyeong-Reh Kim, Ph.D. - Pathology

    Sokol Todi, Ph.D. - Pharmacology

    Nerissa Viola, Ph.D. - Oncology

    Robert Wessells, Ph.D. - Physiology

    Clinical Researcher

    Jennifer Beebe-Dimmer, Ph.D. - Oncology

    Jason Mateika, Ph.D. - Physiology

    Physician Scientist

    Lobelia Samavati, M.D. - Internal Medicine

  • College Teaching Awards

    Muhammad Jaffar, M.D. - Anesthesia

    Domenico Gatti, M.D., Ph.D. - Biochemistry, Microbiology and Immunology

    Maik Huettemann, Ph.D. - Center for Molecular Medicine and Genetics & Biochemistry, Microbiology and Immunology

    Mark Favot, M.D. - Emergency Medicine

    Laura Smylie, M.D. - Emergency Medicine

    Juliann Binienda, Ph.D. - Family Medicine and Public Health Sciences

    Luis Afonso, M.D. - Internal Medicine

    Zeenat Bhat, M.D. - Internal Medicine

    Ijeoma Nnodim Opara, M.D. - Internal Medicine

    Pragnesh Patel, M.D. - Internal Medicine

    Sanjay Revankar, M.D. - Internal Medicine

    Neelima Thati, M.D. - Internal Medicine

    Jarrett Weinberger, M.D. - Internal Medicine

    Maysaa Basha, M.D. - Neurology

    Deepti Zutshi, M.D. - Neurology

    Steven Kalkanis, M.D. - Neurosurgery

    Jay Berman, M.D. - Obstetrics and Gynecology

    Kang Chen, Ph.D. - Obstetrics and Gynecology

    Asif Alavi, M.D. - Oncology

    Jing Li, Ph.D. - Oncology

    Guojun Wu, Ph.D. - Oncology

    Jeffrey Zonder, M.D. - Oncology

    Reecha Bahl, M.D. - Ophthalmology, Visual and Anatomical Sciences

    Ryan Thummel, Ph.D. - Ophthalmology, Visual and Anatomical Sciences

    Stephen Lemos, M.D. - Orthopedic Surgery

    Syed Raza, M.D. - Otolaryngology, Head and Neck Surgery

    Jian Wang, M.D., Ph.D. - Pathology

    Rouba Ali-Fehmi, M.D. - Pathology & Obstetrics and Gynecology

    Elizabeth Secord, M.D. - Pediatrics

    Lynn Smitherman, M.D. - Pediatrics

    Rodrigo Andrade, Ph.D. - Pharmacology

    Michael Bannon, Ph.D. - Pharmacology

    Scott Millis, Ph.D. - Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation

    Robert Wessells, Ph.D. - Physiology

    Jeffrey Stanley, Ph.D. - Psychiatry and Behavioral Neurosciences

    Shibany Taormina, Ph.D. - Psychiatry and Behavioral Neurosciences

    Mark Haacke, Ph.D. - Radiology

    Lawrence Diebel, M.D. - Surgery

    Michael White, M.D. - Surgery

    Steve Kim, M.D. - Surgery & Oncology 

    Steven Lucas, M.D. - Urology